Bank Holiday Shenanigans!!

Hey everyone,

I hope you all had a great Easter break and didn’t eat too much chocolate – oh what the hell, I hope you ate so much chocolate you were sick!!

I really wanted to see the seaside this bank holiday, but it wasn’t to be! Instead, me and the hubby headed out for the day on Friday and Saturday to make the most of the beautiful sunshine and of course to experience some different eateries!

On Friday we went to Barnt Green, which is in South Birmingham, just because I hadn’t been there before and WOW, the houses were amazing, millionaire style dreams, that I could only imagine living in!

After a little wander along millionaires row, we stopped of at the Barnt Green Inn for some food. The building is quite grand and oldey worldly, very beautiful. It was quite busy, as you would expect for a bank holiday and we had quite a wait for our food, about 45 minutes, so it was a good job we weren’t starving!

I went for the Gnocchi with butternut squash, spinach, ricotta and sage

Lunch at Barnt Green Inn

Yum…Gnocchi with Butternut Squash

and the hubby went for Spit Roasted Chicken with lemon and garlic confit, and chips (or frites as their described on the menu!)

Lunch at Barnt Green Inn

Spit Roast Chicken

My Gnocchi was lovely, if a bit weird in texture – I think this was the ricotta and the pumpkin seeds. I liked the fact that it wasn’t smothered in sauce and was just emulsified by the ricotta.

My hubby’s chicken was lovely and garlicy with the aioli on the chips giving quite a kick of garlicy goodness!

We decided not to have pudding, a) because of the wait and b) we were due at my moms in a couple of hours to have fish and chips!!

We will defiantly be heading back there again, and plans are possibly in motion to have my Family Birthday Lunch there in a couple of months, just hope that the service time improves!

After lunch we went for a walk around the Lickey Hills, which if you are not from around Birmingham is a big massive park/wooded area with some lovely walks, along with a play area and a visitor centre. We went a long meander around the park and then took 10 minutes just to sit and people watch! We did end up dog watching more than people watching, looking at all the different types of doggies and wishing we could have one!

That was the end of the Good Friday outing!

On Saturday, as the sun was still shining we decided to go to Henley-in-Arden which is next to Stratford-upon-Avon. It is one of our favourite places to go, and we usually go for a walk up the hills and then have an ice cream. We did do that but after the walk we decided to go for Lunch at the White Swan.

We have been to the White Swan before and were impressed with the food, but this time they really surpassed our expectations, with hubby’s meal getting a 9.8 out of 10 – which is extremely rare score from him!

We only had sandwiches, me going for the Steak Ciabatta and hubby going for the VIP Club Sandwich

White Swan, Henley-in-Arden

Steak Ciabatta

Lunch at the White Swan, Henley-in-Arden

VIP Sandwich

We were absolutely stuffed after that, it really was one of the best steak sandwiches I had ever eaten and as for my hubby’s sandwich, he couldn’t stop talking about how it all worked together, going all chef like on me!

Even though we were full to burst, we couldn’t go to Henley without going to the ice cream shop! They do so many flavours it is always difficult to choose, however I went for a new one – rhubarb and Custard as I am so into rhubarb at the moment which is being influenced by my love for the new Molton Brown rhubarb and Rose range and the other half went for a Toffee Crunch.

Not sure I wasn’t a massive fan of mine – had a few too many ice particles in, but it was definitely different.

We headed off to do the weekly shop, and didn’t feel the need to eat dinner that evening, we were that full!

Easter Sunday was spent lazing around in the morning, eating a big roast dinner for lunch and then ended with me having a massive paperwork clear out as I am trying to streamline my storage in the spare room and upgrade to some new ikea bits.

Oh, and also Sunday involved eating lots of chocolate!!

Today, Easter Monday, we headed of to the cinema with my little bro (who is, by the way, a lot bigger than me!) to watch Amazing Spiderman 2 – if you haven’t been to see this, then you should defiantly go it was Epic! And to top it off, I got a little surprise when I was watching the film as one of the characters is played by a girl I went to school with, Felicity Jones! She has been in a few things I have watched but this was the first time I had seen her on the big screen!! I look forward to seeing more of her, as there is talk that she will in the next one as a baddy type character, which I can’t imagine as she was such a lovely girl at school!

Oh well, that was the end of our Bank Holiday Shenanigans! Not that interesting I know, but a lot better than what I would normally get up too, which is absolutely nothing!

Back to work tomorrow, and the start of another 4 day week! Yay!

Hope you all have a good week!

Ellie x

Leave a Reply

